Cheerfulness

I love words. I love the sound they make. I love the feelings and images they can evoke when you read them. I love the impressions and impact that they have and can create when you use them in combinations (very often referred to as sentences or, more recently, as sound bites). I use words every day (hopefully effectively) in the job I do helping to write bids and proposals and I’ve often thought that the book I’d like to take to a desert island with me is a dictionary.  You can have hours of fun just opening a page, looking at the words that appear and learning new things about them.

So I thought I’d begin the new year by sharing one of my favourite positive words with you.

Cheerfulness: isn’t it a nice word. It’s got a wonderful group of vowel sounds that really make the mouth work and make you create a smile – well in my mind and the way I talk they do.

To give its true meaning I’ve split the word into its component parts (cheerful and ness) and turned to the Oxford English Dictionary – the concise version – to understand it’s meaning and being ever contrary I turned to the end of the word to begin.

“-ness” is a suffix which expresses a state or condition – exactly what I thought it meant, in a sense it’s way of saying “I am ” or “we are”.

“cheerful” is an adjective whose meaning is described in three ways:

  • in good spirits or noticeably happy
  • bright or pleasant
  • willing or not reluctant

So all in all it’s a pretty powerful word I think and I love that fact that I’ve just discovered that it can refer to a state of non-reluctance. I can honestly say I didn’t know that, but what an appropriate word for the start of a New Year.

Cheerfulness: I am in good spirits, I am bright and I am not reluctant to embark on the adventures that may come my way in the year to come. What new things can you learn about words you take for granted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

